Close Player
RELATED VIDEOS
    Close
    Close
    360° View of
    Close
    Get the Official Masters Tournament iPad Application
    Android app on Google Play
    Latest News
    Lastest News

    Latest News

    All News Articles

    Woods Assessed Two-Stroke Penalty

    Woods on No.15
    Tiger Woods prepares to make his drop during Friday's second round on No. 15, which would lead to a penalty.
    Charles Laberge/Augusta National

    Statement from Tournament Headquarters

    Yesterday afternoon, the Rules Committee was made aware of a possible Rules violation that involved a drop by Tiger Woods at the 15th hole.

    In preparation for his fifth shot, the player dropped his ball in close proximity to where he had played his third shot in apparent conformance with Rule 26. After being prompted by a television viewer, the Rules Committee reviewed a video of the shot while he was playing the 18th hole. At that moment and based on that evidence, the Committee determined he had complied with the Rules.

    After he signed his scorecard, and in a television interview subsequent to the round, the player stated that he played further from the point than where he had played his third shot. Such action would constitute playing from the wrong place.

    The subsequent information provided by the player’s interview after he had completed play warranted further review and discussion with him this morning. After meeting with the player, it was determined that he had violated Rule 26, and he was assessed a two-stroke penalty. The penalty of disqualification was waived by the Committee under Rule 33 as the Committee had previously reviewed the information and made its initial determination prior to the finish of the player’s round.

    Fred Ridley
    Chairman, Competition Committees